Faculty Celebrated for Extraordinary Teaching, Research and Service

UC San Diego Faculty Excellence Award honorees 2018-19Faculty Excellence Award honorees 2018-19. From left to right, Executive Vice Chancellor Elizabeth H. Simmons, Professor Jens Lykke-Andersen; Professor Olivia Graeve, Professor Christine Alvarado, Professor Craig Callender, Professor Robert Brill and Chancellor's Associates Selection Committee Chair Peggy Matarese ’82, MD ’86.

On Apr. 18, six outstanding UC San Diego faculty members were honored at the 45th annual Chancellor’s Associates Faculty Excellence Awards for innovative research, extraordinary teaching and making a difference in the community.

“These talented scholars are blazing entirely new ways of thinking, inspiring new generations of students through research and redefining how learning happens in the classroom,” said Chancellor Pradeep K. Khosla. “I commend this year’s Faculty Excellence Award honorees for their novel explorations, dedication to teaching and service to our community.”

Faculty Excellence Award reception.Image on left: Professor Robert Brill and Chancellor's Associates Council Chair Sandy Timmons. Image on right: Professor Christine Alvarado, Professor Olivia Graeve and EVC Elizabeth H. Simmons.

The recipients of the 2018-19 Chancellor’s Associates Faculty Excellence Awards are: Professor of Philosophy Craig Callender for Excellence in Research in Humanities and Social Sciences; Professor of NanoEngineering and Materials Science Y. Shirley Meng for Excellence in Research in Science and Engineering; Professor of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering Olivia Graeve for Excellence in Community Service; Professor of Scenic Design Robert Brill for Excellence in the Performing and Visual Arts; Teaching Professor of Computer Science and Engineering Christine Alvarado for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching; and Professor of Molecular Biology Jens Lykke-Andersen for Excellence in Graduate Teaching.

For these awards, faculty members are nominated by their academic peers in recognition of their exemplary contributions to the university. Final selections are made by a committee of Chancellor’s Associates donors. Each honoree receives a commendation and $2,500.