Basketball Teams Finish Slam Dunk Season

UC San Diego women's and men's basketball team

In summer 2020, the entire Triton athletics program will officially transition to the National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) Division I with the majority of its teams becoming members of the Big West Conference. Triton athletic teams have claimed 30 NCAA national championships in team sports and a total of 138 Triton student-athletes have earned individual national titles.

This March, in their penultimate season of NCAA Division II competition, the Triton basketball teams combined to win nearly 90 percent of their games, claimed California Collegiate Athletic Association (CCAA) regular season and tournament titles, ranked among the top 10 in the nation and claimed first round victories in the NCAA Tournament.

Women’s basketball head coach Heidi VanDerveer was named CCAA Coach of the Year. Her team registered the finest season in program history by almost every measure. The Tritons lost just once en route to a remarkable 30-1 record and were ranked No. 2 in the nation throughout most of the season. The team’s win total was its highest in program history and its CCAA regular season title marked its fourth straight.

Eric Olen, men’s basketball head coach, guided his team to a 26-8 overall record and the program’s third straight CCAA Tournament title. The Tritons ranked as high as sixth nationally during the season and claimed a share of the league’s regular season title.