Advancing Global Science and Technology

Chancellor Khosla with Ratan N. Tata, R. Venkataramanan and other distinguished guests.

UC San Diego celebrated the dedication of a new building for the divisions of Biological and Physical Sciences yesterday with a special announcement.  The new, cutting-edge science building will bear the name Tata Hall for the Sciences, or Tata Hall, in recognition of a $70 million gift from the Tata Trusts, which was committed last year to create the binational Tata Institute for Genetics and Society.  At the dedication event, Chancellor Khosla recognized the Tata Trusts’ leadership and collaboration with UC San Diego, and the Tata family’s pioneering philanthropy and singular impact to bring about societal change.  He also noted that Tata Hall exemplifies UC San Diego’s tradition of non-tradition, inspiring cross-disciplinary collaboration among researchers and the next generation of innovators. 

The university also announced the four inaugural chair holders of the Tata Chancellor’s Endowed Professorships, the first in a series of 10 endowed faculty chairs that were established by UC San Diego to attract and retain top scientists and faculty focused on research that aligns with the institute’s goals.  The inaugural chair holders are: Suresh Subramani, Ethan Bier, Karthik Muralidharan and Anita Raj.

The ceremonial signing of a beam, which will be incorporated into the construction.