Acknowledging Academic Excellence

From left: Chancellor Khosla, Professor Mihir Bellare (accepting on behalf of Sarah Meiklejohn), Professor David Meyer (accepting on behalf of Thomas G. Wong), Timothy Roger Mullen, Thanathom Chailangkarn, Rick Grusch (accepting on behalf of Daniel C. Burnston), and Graduate Student Association representative Holly Dembinski

The Chancellor’s Dissertation Medal recognizes outstanding Ph.D. dissertations from each academic division at UC San Diego.  This year, it was awarded to five extraordinary individuals who were chosen because of the impact, originality, presentation and quality of their work.  During the ceremony last night, Chancellor Khosla congratulated each awardee and thanked them for their contributions to their field, past and future.