UC San Diego Graduates Next Generation of Physicians

Hundreds of proud family members and friends flocked to the UC San Diego campus over the weekend to congratulate the School of Medicine’s newest graduates – now doctors.  The school’s commencement weekend began with a Senior Banquet last Thursday and then a Senior Awards ceremony on Saturday, which recognized the graduates’ range of talent and accomplishments – from clinical and research excellence to admirable characteristics like compassion and humanism.  The commencement ceremony for the 130 men and women took place on Sunday.  Chancellor Khosla conferred the degrees and expressed his admiration for their passion, determination and hard work.

Famous Filmmaker Honored for Scientific Exploration

“This prize is given to luminaries who have helped bring the adventure and excitement of science into the public spotlight.” – Chancellor Khosla

World-renowned filmmaker James Cameron is the latest recipient of the Nierenberg Prize for Science in the Public Interest.  He received the award during a ceremony at UC San Diego’s Scripps Institution of Oceanography, where he talked about his record-setting deep-sea expedition.  Last year, he became the first person to complete a solo dive to the world’s deepest point.  Cameron has been collaborating with Scripps for nearly a decade, focusing on developing new ways to explore and study the deepest parts of the oceans.  He donated an extreme-depth unmanned undersea “lander” to Scripps for future exploration endeavors.

At the award ceremony, Chancellor Khosla congratulated Cameron and talked about the importance of the Nierenberg award, explaining that it is among the most prestigious awards given at UC San Diego.

Recognizing Faculty Excellence

“These distinguished faculty exemplify our tradition of excellence in teaching, research and service.”  – Chancellor Khosla

UC San Diego’s Academic Senate recognized 10 extraordinary campus scholars at the 2013 Distinguished Teaching Awards ceremony at the Faculty Club.  Chancellor Khosla congratulated the award recipients, and commended their excellent work and service to the university and our students.  This year’s honorees represent a diverse range of disciplines – from structural engineering and literature to visual arts and education studies.  The award recipients are Hyonny Kim, Sharon Reed, Nicole Tonkovich, Michael Trigilio, Barbara Walter, Edmond Chang, Luz Chung, Richard Ord, Keith McCleary, and Kevin Webb.  Faculty Research Lecturer Awards had been previously presented to Michael Parrish William Young.

Page 179 of 210 pages ‹ First  < 177 178 179 180 181 >  Last ›