Shaping a New Era in Healthcare

Thomas Moore, Steven Garfin, Chancellor Khosla, Michael Madani, David Brenner, Patty Maysent

UC San Diego’s School of Medicine is celebrating its 50th anniversary this year, as well as the faculty who have defined our health sciences and what we can achieve.  A special investiture ceremony was held recently for our health sciences faculty endowed chair holders.  Chancellor Khosla presented the faculty members with commemorative medals and thanked them for shaping a new era in healthcare and strengthening the power of academic medicine at UC San Diego. 

An endowed chair is the highest honor the university can bestow on our faculty members.  It represents an investment in our talent and our future, fueling our revolutionary pursuit to understand, treat, and eventually cure devastating diseases.  An endowed chair also enables us to recognize and advance faculty members’ passionate pursuit of groundbreaking innovation, life-changing care, and exceptional education of the next generation of medical professionals. 

Chancellor Khosla and Ming Tsuang

Douglas Richman, Joshua Fierer, Thomas Patterson, Steffanie Strathdee, Anita Raj, Igor Grant, Michael Oxman

Maria Elena Martinez, Steffanie Strathdee, Catriona Jamieson, Patty Maysent, Maike Sander

Chancellor Khosla and Lars Bode

Recognizing Outstanding Student Leadership

Student Foundation Trustee Rohan Bhargava, UC San Diego Foundation Trustee and alumna Wendy Kwok, Student Foundation Trustee Sara Tan and UC President Janet Napolitano

Congratulations to the UC San Diego Student Foundation for receiving the University of California President's Award for Outstanding Student Leadership. The UC San Diego Student Foundation is being recognized for addressing food insecurity on campus by raising funds for the student-run Triton Food Pantry, which helps ensure every student on campus has access to nutritious food.  The organization raised more than $2,000, in addition to stocking the pantry with dry goods to last five months.  The Student Foundation also raises money for scholarships and other student needs.  The award is presented each spring to students and campus-based organizations that enhance multi-campus collaboration, address system-wide issues and advance UC’s mission of teaching, research and public service.

Commemorating a Pioneering Spirit

The United States Postal Service has a new stamp commemorating Sally Ride, the first American woman to rocket into space.  The stamp was unveiled at a ceremony yesterday on the UC San Diego campus with many of Sally Ride’s family members and friends in attendance who shared stories about the pioneering astronaut.  Chancellor Khosla shared how proud we are that Sally Ride called UC San Diego home for nearly two decades as a Professor of Physics.  He also highlighted the shared passion of Sally Ride and our university in educating the next generation of innovators and explorers, and he said we are committed to carrying on Sally Ride’s legacy of pushing boundaries, challenging expectations and taking risks so we can make our world a better place.

A special Women in Leadership panel was held afterwards featuring trailblazing women and friends of Sally Ride, including Billie Jean King, Ellen Ochoa, Condoleeza Rice and Lynn Sherr.  Sally Ride’s life partner, Tam O’Shaughnessy, helped organize and bring the events to campus, as well as Sally Ride Science at UC San Diego, where she serves as the Executive Director.

Billie Jean King

Page 5 of 209 pages ‹ First  < 3 4 5 6 7 >  Last ›