2019 Breakfast of Champions Celebrates Triton Athletes

UC San Diego Chancellor Khosla with Triton Athletes at 2019 Breakfast of Champions

Chancellor Khosla with Triton Athletes at 2019 Breakfast of Champions.

More than 100 Triton student-athletes and coaches enjoyed breakfast on June 6 at Audrey Geisel University House. The annual “Breakfast of Champions” event recognizes athletes and coaches who gained national championship status in their sport. Chancellor Khosla personally congratulated the champions as they arrived, and then talked during the breakfast about the importance of athletics at UC San Diego and how they contribute to Triton pride.

Highlights for the 2018-19 season include:

Men’s Basketball earned double CCAA crowns, winning regular season and tournament titles en route to appearing in the NCAA West Regional for the 4thconsecutive year. Ranked as high as #7 nationally, the Tritons set single season program records for points scored, three-pointers made, and free throw percentage. Center Chris Hansen was named the CCAA Player of the Year and became the team’s first NCAA Division 2 All-American.

Women’s Basketball put together one of the best seasons in school history, beginning the year with a program-best 30-game winning streak en route to winning the CCAA regular season and tournament championships and qualifying for NCAA postseason play. Ranked #2 in the nation for seven-consecutive weeks, UC San Diego posted a perfect 22-0 record in league games while going 30-1 overall. Forward Mikayla Williams earned CCAA Player of the Year and All-America honors, while Heidi VanDerveer received both CCAA and West Region Coach of the Year accolades.

Golf advanced to the NCAA Championships for the first time since 2004, placing 14th overall. The Tritons finished second of 20 teams at the NCAA Regional to punch their ticket to nationals. Hayden Hui was the team’s top finisher in 11 of 13 tournaments and picked up All-West Region and All-CCAA accolades for his impressive performances.

Softball claimed the title of CCAA regular-season champions, and earned the right to host the NCAA West 2 Regional as the region’s second seed. The Tritons bounced back from a loss by winning their next three games to advance to the Super Regional. At the Super Regional, UC San Diego knocked off top-seed Concordia Irvine, advancing to the finals of the National Championship for the first time since 2012.

Men’s Water Polo had a historic season, finishing with a 20-6 overall record and advancing to the NCAA Semifinals. The Tritons won the WWPA Championship for the 19th time in program history, and finished the year ranked #5 in the nation. Goalkeeper Jack Turner was named ACWPC Player of the Year and earned First-Team All-America accolades along with junior Skyler Munatones and sophomore Connor Turnbow-Lindenstadt. In addition, Denny Harper received both ACWPC and WWPA Coach of the Year accolades.