Supporting Student Scholarships and Success

“Education truly is the greatest gift one can give.” – Chancellor Khosla

Alumni Board members Annamarie Bezzerides (and daughter Iliana, center), Matt Newsome, Tony Fiori, Chancellor Khosla

Every February, UC San Diego unites scholarship recipients with the generous philanthropists who support them at the Hearts and Scholars dinner.  It’s an opportunity for our students to thank their benefactors and for donors to learn first-hand how their support positively impacts students’ lives.  At last night’s dinner, Chancellor Khosla conveyed his belief that education is the greatest gift one can give because it’s a gift of opportunity.  He also talked about the university’s goal of raising $2 billion during The Campaign for UC San Diego—which will enter the public phase next month—and shared that fundraising for scholarships will be a priority.

Recipient of the Bhat Family Scholarship Diana Alsindy with Jayaram Bhat

Recipient of the Thomas Baker and Marc Better Scholarship Juan Villapudua with Thomas Baker

Alumnus and Chair of the International Leadership Committee for the Campaign for UC San Diego Ken Kroner, Timmstrom Scholar Angela Yu ’19, and alumnus and a Vice Chair for the International Leadership Committee Richard Sandstrom

Celebrating UC San Diego Art Innovation

Sheldon Brown, Chancellor Khosla, Jack Greenstein

Chancellor Khosla recently visited the University Art Gallery to see the Harold Cohen, Creating Computational Creativity exhibit, featuring numerous large-scale prints created over a 40-year period.  Cohen, who taught at UC San Diego from 1968 to 1994, was an early adopter of the computing/art connection.  While the Chancellor viewed the exhibit, Department of Visual Arts Chair and Professor Jack Greenstein and Professor Sheldon Brown shared insights into Cohen’s pioneering work in art and artificial intelligence.  The University Art Gallery was founded in 1966 and has a longstanding commitment to showcasing diverse artistic practices.

Recognizing Faculty Achievements and Contributions

Every year, the Academic Senate honors two faculty members with the esteemed Faculty Research Lecturer Award.  This year’s recipients are Distinguished Professor of Philosophy David Brink and Professor of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering Joanna McKittrick.  At a reception this week to honor the awardees, Chancellor Khosla congratulated the faculty members and recognized their significant contributions to the advancement of knowledge.  Professors Brink and McKittrick then delivered lectures on their ground-breaking research.  

Professor Joanna McKittrick

Professor David Brink

Page 31 of 194 pages ‹ First  < 29 30 31 32 33 >  Last ›