American Academy of Arts and Sciences Elects UC San Diego Chancellor and Three Professors

Chancellor Khosla, along with Professors James T. Kadonaga, Valerie A. Ramey and Faith Ringgold, have been elected as members of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences.  The Academy is one of the country’s most esteemed honorary societies and independent policy research centers. 

Founded in 1780, the Academy convenes some of the world’s most accomplished scholars, scientists, writers and artists, as well as civic, business and philanthropic leaders, to respond to society’s challenges and opportunities.  Members of the 2017 class include winners of the Pulitzer Prize and the Wolf Prize; MacArthur fellows; Fields medalists; Presidential Medal of Freedom and National Medal of Arts recipients; and winners of Academy, Grammy, Emmy and Tony awards.  Read more about UC San Diego's honorees.

Rolling Out the Blue & Gold Carpet for Newly Admitted Students

"UC San Diego is proud to share its expansive ocean-view campus, dynamic academic community, cutting-edge research and endless resources with a new generation of potential Tritons and their families.” - Chancellor Khosla

Chancellor Khosla with newly admitted student Jake Bower and his family

UC San Diego welcomed newly admitted students and their families during Triton Day on Saturday.  The annual event showcases all that UC San Diego has to offer our students, from undergraduate research opportunities to hundreds of student organizations.   More than 20,000 people took part in the festivities—touring campus, visiting residence halls, classrooms and lab spaces, and meeting faculty, staff and students to learn more about the university.  Current students also hosted Triton Fest, featuring life-size games on the Sun God Lawn and student entertainment. 

The excitement continued on Sunday with the Triton 5K.  Established in 1996, the race has raised more than $3.6 million in scholarships, benefiting more than 1,000 students.  The Triton 5K course steers race participants through the heart of campus, along towering eucalyptus groves and past iconic campus landmarks.

Current students congratulate two new Tritons who accepted their admission to UC San Diego

Chancellor Khosla, Associate Vice Chancellor Adele Brumfield and Director of Undergraduate Admissions Kristina Wong Davis with newly admitted students

Newly admitted student from the Preuss School Omar Garcia with Chancellor Khosla and Adele Brumfield

Chancellor Khosla with newly admitted student Nevil Patel and his father

Participants get ready for the Junior Triton Run

Recognizing Faculty Excellence

“An outstanding faculty is the foundation of any great institution.” – Chancellor Khosla

Chancellor Khosla, Chancellor's Associates Chair Linda Masters, award recipients Richard Arneson, Patricia Rincon, Stephanie Mel, Babette Mangolte and Victor Nizet, and Interim EVC Peter Cowhey (not pictured: award recipient Grant Kester)

Six extraordinary faculty members are the new recipients of the Chancellor’s Associates Faculty Excellence Awards. This prestigious award annually recognizes excellence in teaching, research, community service and the performing arts.  At the award ceremony yesterday, Chancellor Khosla noted that the contributions of these faculty members have led to a better understanding of our world and stronger learning outcomes and experiences for our students.  The Chancellor’s Associates have recognized more than 200 faculty members over the last four decades with this award.

Chancellor Khosla and Interim EVC Cowhey with Chancellor's Associates Thomas and Carol Dillon and Gerald Kent

Page 26 of 194 pages ‹ First  < 24 25 26 27 28 >  Last ›