Honoring Outstanding Service and Contributions

Chancellor Khosla and AVC of Human Resources Robert Crouch with the 2015-16 recipients of the Exemplary Staff Employee of the Year Awards.

Every year, UC San Diego honors 10 campus members who make exceptional contributions to UC San Diego and our community in support of our vision as a student-centered, research-focused, service-oriented public university.  The annual Exemplary Staff Employee of the Year award ceremony was held yesterday.  Chancellor Khosla personally thanked and congratulated each of this year’s honorees, and talked about how much he values and recognizes the important role and contributions of UC San Diego staff.  Learn more about this year’s award recipients.

Cultivating Community Connections

Chancellor Khosla and CCAB Chair Bob Brown (left) with outgoing board members Berta Lopez, Bob Witty and Carmen Sandoval.

The Chancellor recently hosted members of the Chancellor’s Community Advisory Board (CCAB) at Geisel University House for the board’s annual spring meeting.  He thanked the community members for their support in strengthening relationships between the university and community, and for promoting campus diversity.  CCAB members have played a vital role in encouraging underrepresented students to apply to UC San Diego and accept our offer of admission.  Many have attended campus and community events, like the annual Black Family Get-Together and admissions sessions in Los Angeles and the Bay Area, to recruit students from underserved communities.

Chancellor Khosla and CCAB Chair Bob Brown presented retiring Assistant Vice Chancellor of Admissions and Enrollment Services Mae Brown with flowers.

Congratulations, Class of 2016

“You are part of an extraordinary UC San Diego community, a network, a family, and you are forever a UC San Diego Triton. This is your university.  This is your home.” – Chancellor Khosla

Thousands of graduates, family members and friends gathered at UC San Diego this weekend to celebrate the commencement of more than 8,000 new alumni.  A revived tradition this year, the All Campus Commencement kicked off the weekend of festivities on Saturday morning.  Muhammad Yunus, Nobel Peace Prize recipient and founder of the global microfinance movement, served as keynote speaker and received the UC San Diego Medal from Chancellor Khosla.  

Professor Yunus told the audience that one idea and one action can benefit millions of people, and he encouraged our newest graduates to use their education to solve our world’s problems.  Chancellor Khosla touted the accomplishments of our graduating class, as well as our alumni, and urged them to take inspiration from others but forge their own paths.  After the All Campus Commencement, the colleges and graduate programs hosted their individual graduation ceremonies.

All Campus Commencement keynote speaker Muhammad Yunus and Chancellor Khosla

Vice Chancellors Pierre Ouillet and Juan González with student speakers Karina Mohajerani and Alberto Vasquez

A drone captures graduates holding blue and gold paper above their heads to create the 2016 image.

The School of Medicine commencement was held on June 5.

Graduates from the School of Medicine

Page 1 of 145 pages  1 2 3 >  Last ›