Recognizing Extraordinary Teaching

"An outstanding faculty is the hallmark of any great university." - Chancellor Khosla

Top row: Elaine K. Denny, Salvador Zárate, Charie Oates, Brandon Christian Marin, Patrick Mercier; Bottom row: Eric L. Michelsen, Holly Bauer, Adam J. Burgasser, Chancellor Khosla, Katharina Brandl, Dolores H. Pretorius

Congratulations to this year’s recipients of the UC San Diego Academic Senate Distinguished Teaching Award.  The prestigious award is bestowed upon faculty and graduate students to honor teaching excellence.  Recipients are selected for their creativity, innovative teaching methods, ability to motivate students and commitment to teaching.  At the annual awards ceremony today at the Faculty Club, Chancellor Khosla congratulated each awardee and commented that it is because of our amazing achievers – like our honorees – that UC San Diego has become a world-renowned public research university in only five decades.

Chancellor Khosla presented each recipient with a commendation, including Kirstie Dorr (above).